2012 MMA Award Nominees

We’ll hand out our 2012 Bangers tomorrow night. Until then, here’s our list of nominees for the 2012 Bangers:

Male Fighter of the Year
Jon Jones
Daniel Cormier
Ben Henderson
Tim Boetsch
Demetrious Johnson

Female Fighter of the Year
Ronda Rousey
Sarah Kaufmann
Jessica Aguilar
Sara McMann
Miesha Tate

Fight of the Year
Chan Sung Jung vs. Dustin Poirier
Ben Henderson vs. Frankie Edgar
Joe Lauzon vs. Jamie Varner
Edson Barboza vs. Terry Etim
Demetrious Johnson vs. Ian McCall
Ronda Rousey vs. Miesha Tate
Martin Kampmann vs. Thiago Alves
Jake Ellenburger vs. Diego Sanchez
Carlos Condit vs. Nick Diaz
Shogun Rua vs. Brandon Vera
Tim Boetsch vs. Yushin Okami
Georges St. Pierre vs. Carlos Condit
Fabricio Werdum vs. Roy Nelson
Jon Fitch vs. Erick Silva
Nate Diaz vs. Jim Miller

KO of the Year
Edson Barboza KOs Terry Etim
Tim Boetch KOs Yushin Okami
Jose Aldo KOs Chad Mendes
Anthony Pettis KOs Joe Lauzon
Stephen Thompson KOs Dan Stittgen
Chris Weidman KOs Mark Munoz
Mark Hunt KOs Cheick Kongo
Siyar Bahadruzara KOs Paulo Thiago
Cung Le vs. Rich Franklin
Robbie Lawler KOs Adlan Amagov
King Mo KO’s Lorenz Larkin
Pat Barry KOs Shane del Rosario
Rustam Khabilov KOs Vinc Pincel
Ryan Jimmo KOs Anthony Perosh

Submission of the Year
Ronda Rousey sub. Miesha Tate
Chan Sung Jung sub. Dustin Poirier
Rousimar Palhares sub. Mike Mazzenzo
Eduardo Dantas sub. Zack Makovsky
Charles Oliveira sub. Eric Wisley
Martin Kampmann sub. Thiago Alves
Nate Diaz sub. Jim Miller
Dustin Poirier sub. Max Holloway
Jim Miller sub. Melvin Guillard
Vitor Belfort sub. Anthony Johnson
Josh Neer sub Duane Ludwig
Joe Lauzon sub. Jamie Varner
Vaughan Lee sub. Norfumi Yamamoto
Paul Sass sub. Jacob Volkmann
Damian Maia sub. Rick Story

B-Side Award (best prelim fight)
Marcus Brimage vs. Jimy Hettes
Nick Ring vs. Court McGee
Titty Sprinkles
Keith Wisniewski vs. Chris Clements

Breakout Fighter of the Year
Renan Barao
Michael Chandler
Ronda Rousey
Luke Rockhold
Chris Weidman

Deuces Up Award (fighter that should retire in 2013)
Shogun Rua
Mark Hunt
B.J. Penn
Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira

Ace of Spades Award (best major card of the year)
UFC 142
UFC 143
UFC 144
UFC 146
UFC on FX 1
UFC on FX 2
UFC on Fuel TV 1
UFC on Fox 3
Strikeforce: Tate vs. Rousey
UFC on Fox 4

Manos: Hands of Fate Award (worst card of the year)
UFC 149
UFC 151
Bellator 71
Super Fight League 3
WMMA 1: McCorkle vs. Heden

Biggest Story of 2012
– Ronda Rousey becomes one of the biggest stars in all of MMA, responsible for first MMA fight in the UFC
– UFC 151 cancelled due to Dan Henderson’s injury and Jon Jones’s refusal to fight Chael Sonnen
– The Great MMA Injury Curse of 2012: dozens of fights altered or scrapped altogether due to many injuries and ailments, several days – or in some cases hours – from fight time
– Strikeforce continues to fade into obscurity, cancels November 3rd due to injuries to Frank Mir and Luke Rockhold, announces last show for early 2013
– GSP returns from a major ACL injury in 11 months to beat top contender Carlos Condit and retain his UFC WW title
– Frankie Edgar becomes only fighter in UFC history to fight 3 opponents over a 6-fight stretch after his pair of losses to Ben Henderson
– Jason Miller released from his UFC contract, found by police shortly thereafter in a robe in a church

Worst Moment of 2012
Pat Curran KO’s Joe Warren five times in 30 seconds at Bellator 60
Steve Mazzagatti no-calls Colton Smith’s kick to Mick Ricci’s balls

WTF of the Year (worst decision of the Year)
Nick Ring def. Court McGee
Ben Henderson def. Frankie Edgar II

Boyz II Men Award (young fighter who grew up the most this year)
Rory MacDonald
Michael McDonald
John Dodson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>