Nominees for the 2011 Bang MMA Awards

Yes, we’re a week behind everyone on this one, but we still have some hardware of our own to hand out. This is the list of nominees being considered by our panel of six voters (The three of us, three guests). Next week, we’ll announce the winners in our return to the podcasting airwaves. We’ll have an exact day for that soon. Until then, let the arguments begin.

Fighter of the Year
Dominick Cruz Jon Jones
Nick Diaz Dan Henderson
Frankie Edgar Anderson Silva
Jose Aldo

Fight of the Year
Edgar vs. Maynard II – UFC 125 Sanchez vs. Kampmann – UFC on Versus 3
Diaz vs. Santos – Strikeforce: Diaz vs. Cyborg Stann vs. Leben – UFC 125
Henderson vs. Rua – UFC 139 Jones vs. Rua – UFC 128
Chandler vs. Alvarez – Bellator 58 Guida vs. Gomi – UFC 125
Stephens vs. Davis – UFC 125 Aldo vs. Hominick – UFC 129
Cruz vs. Faber II – UFC 132

Knockout of the Year
Anderson Silva KO’s Vitor Belfort – UFC 126 Lyoto Machida KOs Randy Couture – UFC 129
Carols Condit KOs Dong-Hyun Kim – UFC 132 Cheiek Kongo KO’s Pat Berry – UFC on Versus 4
Dan Henderson KOs Fedor Emelianenko – Strikeforce: Fedor vs. Henderson Melvin Guillard KOs Evan Dunham – UFC Fight Night 23
Nick Diaz KOs Paul Daley – Strikeforce: Diaz vs. Daley Mark Hominick KOs George Roop – UFC Fight Night 23
Jeremy Stephens KOs Marcus Davis – UFC 125 Sergei Kharitanov KOs Andrei Arlovski – Strikeforce: Fedor vs. Silva

Submission of the Year
Chang Sung Jung submits Leonard Garcia – UFC Fight Night 24 Clay Guida submits Takanori Gomi – UFC 125
Jon Jones submits Ryan Bader – UFC 126 Yves Edwards submits Cody McKenzie – UFC Fight for the Troops 2
Donald Cerrone submits Paul Kelly – UFC 126 Roger Gracie submits Trevor Prangley – Strikeforce: Diaz vs. Cyborg
Ronda Rousey submits Julia Budd – Strikeforce Challengers 20 Frank Mir submits Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira – UFC 140
Richard Hale submits Nik Fekete – Bellator 38

B-Side Award (best prelim fight)
Poirer vs. Garza – UFC on Fox 1 Ryan Bader vs. Jason Brilz – UFC 139
Poirer vs. Grispi – UFC 125 Yves Edwards vs. Cody McKenzie – UFC Fight for the Troops 2
Donald Cerrone vs. Paul Kelly – UFC 126 Edson Barboza vs. Anthony Njokuani – UFC 128
Michael McDonald vs. Edwin Figueroa – UFC Fight Night 24 Matt Riddle vs. Lance Benoist – UFC Fight Night 25

Prospect of the Year
Jimy Hettes Michael McDonald
Edson Barboza Chris Weidman
Roger Gracie Charles Olivera
Joe Soto Patricio Freire
Gunnar Nelson

Deuces Up Award (fighter that should retire in 2012)
Tito Ortiz Matt Hughes
Wanderlei Silva Fedor Emelianenko
Tim Sylvia Andrei Arlovski

Ace of Spades Award (best card of the year)
UFC 140 UFC 139
UFC 132 UFC 134
UFC 129 UFC 125
Strikeforce: World Grand Prix Heavyweight Semifinals UFC 126
Strikeforce: Fedor vs. Henderson Bellator 51

Manos: Hands of Fate Award (worst card of the year)
UFC 136 M-1 Global: Fedor vs. Monson
UFC 127 UFC 130
UFC Live: Kongo vs. Barry UFC 141

Biggest Story of 2011
Zuffa buys Strikeforce Randy Couture retires
Brock Lesnar retires Chael Sonnen returns to the Octagon
UFC opens flyweight division Georges St. Pierre tears ACL
UFC-Fox TV deal Death of Shawn Tompkins

Worst Moment of 2011
Rashad Evans’ Jerry Sandusky joke Miguel Torres’ “rape van” tweets
Chris Leben suspended one year for failing post-UFC 138 drug test Nick Diaz no shows press conferences prior to UFC 137
Brock Lesnar takes several sledgehammers to the face, immediately retires at UFC 141

Female Fighter of the Year
Miesha Tate Ronda Rousey
Zoila Gurgel Marloes Coenen
Cristiane Santos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>